LibGuides: Model UN/NATO: Model UN

Model UN Resources

GC-IMUN-550

The Lake Erie International Model United Nations Corporation

The Lake Erie College Conference section contains conference information for current and prospective advisors, delegates, and staff volunteers.This site includes a welcome from the Secretary General, conference schedule, registration information, research information, Conference Handbook, Rules of Procedures, etc.

Model UN Rules of Engagement

This guide provides detailed procedural rules and the process required to pass motions.

Model UN Best Delegate

Since 2010, our training and resources, have helped over 3 million people learn Model United Nations! We offer MUN training for schools and educational organizations, including online resources and mentorship.

Model United Nations

Model United Nations (MUN) simulations are popular exercises for those interested in learning more about the UN. It is estimated that more than 400,000 students worldwide participate every year in MUN at all educational levels – from primary school to university. Many of today’s leaders in law, government, business and the arts participated in MUN as students.

About the Model UN

At Model UN, students step into the shoes of ambassadors of countries that are members of the UN, from Argentina to Zimbabwe. The students, better known as “delegates”, debate current issues on the organization’s vast agenda. They prepare draft resolutions, plot strategy, negotiate with supporters and adversaries, resolve conflicts, and navigate the UN’s rules of procedure – all in the interest of resolving problems that affect the world.

Role-playing exercises and simulations can help you to prepare for the Model UN conference and debates by helping you to practice your speaking skills and interacting with others on a focused activity in an attempt to collectively reach a resolution.

Role-playing Exercise: Decision-making in the Japanese Government
The role-play uses a real issue to illustrate the dynamics of decision-making in Japan. The introductory reading emphasizes the contrasts between the U.S. president and Congress and the Japanese prime minister and Diet. The main point to be illustrated in the role-play is the greater freedom of the Japanese prime minister to "decide" — he does not need the Diet's cooperation in the same way that the U.S. president needs Congress's. Equally important is the counter to this greater freedom: the prime minister must pay a political price for any unpopular decision and is more vulnerable than a president who is elected by direct vote and who cannot be removed during his four-year term.
iCivics
Civics teaches students how government works by having them experience it directly. Through our games, the player steps into any role – a judge, a member of Congress, a community activist fighting for local change, even the President of the United States – and does the job they do. Educational video games allow for concepts to happen to us. They convey information while teaching skills for effective civic engagement.

Importantly, these games are rooted in clear learning objectives and integrated with lesson plans and support materials. Teachers use iCivics in many classroom settings. Their students become more knowledgeable – and capable – for civic discourse. Our resources are developed by an experienced and driven team of former educators, and vetted by our teacher volunteer circle – the Educator Network. We also partner with education game developers, technology companies, and civic organizations to deliver our impactful and high-quality products.
13 Days: President Kennedy and the Cuban Missile Crisis
Students investigate outcomes of the Cuban Missile Crisis by using primary documents and role-playing President Kennedy’s national security team.

Engaging the United Nations by Brian Dille Engaging the United Nations is an accessible introduction to the UN and a guide to prepare for a Model UN simulation. Each chapter is introduced by a comic that relates the parallel stories of two young women, one a refugee on the receiving end of international institutions, and the other a recent college graduate whose work shows the bureaucratic side of the UN. Each chapter has three sections: Content, which discusses theory, history, and facts like a standard textbook; Skills, which focuses on the essential skills of research, writing, effective communication, and diplomacy needed to excel as a delegate to a Model UN conference; and Exercises, which explores these skills in a classroom setting. The plight of refugees is central to the narrative of the comic portion of the text, and a portion of the proceeds of this book will be given to refugee assistance efforts.
Call Number: JZ4984.5 .D55
ISBN: 9780998851808
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Model United Nations Handbook by Greg Hodgin Model UN Handbook is a reference tool for sponsors of Model UN and for the delegates of Model UN teams to use at conferences. The book contains all of the basic information that will be necessary to understand not only what happens at the conference, but also how to succeed. The book includes chapters on the UN system, rules of procedure, voting procedure, resolution writing, caucuses, and other chapters that will be highly useful in conference.
Call Number: JZ4984.5 .H63
ISBN: 0761854495
Publication Date: 2011-12-14
Basic Facts about the United Nations 2014 by United Nations, Department of Public Information Staff (Contribution by) This comprehensive handbook designed for the general public explains the structure of the United Nations, how the Organisation works, the main issues it addresses and its importance for people everywhere. In addition to setting out the various roles played by principle UN organs and related organisations, Basic Facts about the United Nations documents the Organisation's contributions to international peace and security, economic and social development, human rights, humanitarian action, international law and decolonisation. Appendices contain current data on UN membership and peacekeeping operations, as well as contact information for UN information centres, services and offices. This latest edition has been revised to take account of significant developments in the world and the Organisation itself since 2011.
Call Number: JZ4984.5 .B37 2014
ISBN: 9789211012798
Publication Date: 2013-10-29

United Nations
United Nations Document: Research Guide
Presents an overview of the various types of documents and publications issued by the Organization (e.g, reports, resolutions, meeting records, sales publications, press releases) and provides guidance on how to work with them.
UN Documents

Offers access to UN founding documents, general assembly records, security council resolutions and documents from other standing UN councils.
UN Statistics Division

Compiles and disseminates global stiatistics on demographics, economic development and indicators, environmental factors including those that are impacted by global warming as well as promoting the development of both national and international statistical standards.
UN Dag Hammarskjold Library

Comprehensive archival collection of UN documents and publications includes access to the UN pulse an alert service that announces the online release of UN documents, publications and reports.
World Digital Library

Searchable product of the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization that spans the history of civilization and contains both primary documents and the secondary sources describing them