LibGuides: Media Technology: Interactive Design and Animation

Databases

ACM Digital Library
Full text of journal and conference papers from the Association for Computing Machinery.

Academic Search Complete
Full text articles online. Useful for internet, popular communication devices (mp3, iPod), etc. Search by topic or title of publication.

E-Books - Computer Science - Animation
Full text books online.

Multimedia

Animation/Vimeo

The best animated craft, style, and character design.

Animation World Network

The Animation World Network is the largest animation-related publishing group on the Internet, providing readers relevant and helpful information pertaining to all aspects of animation.

C21Media
Entertainment industry news, particularly television and online streaming. Some content is subscriber-only.

Entertainment Careers
Jobs in Film, Television, Sports & Music - Studios, Networks, Production Companies, Music, Film, TV, Radio, VFX, Animation, Acting, Production, Post Production, PR, Design...

Films on Demand
Run a search for animation to view educational video segments

Origins of American Animation- Library of Congress

The development of early American animation is represented by this collection of 21 animated films and 2 fragments, which spans the years 1900 to 1921

Screen International (Screen Daily)
Online news blog for the industry magazine Screen International.

Journals and Articles

Animation Magazine

Monthly print and website covering the animation, education and visual effects.

animation: an interdisciplinary journal

animation: an interdisciplinary journal provides the first cohesive international peer-reviewed publishing platform for animation that unites contributions from a wide range of research agendas and creative practice.

Open Educational Resources

American Memory Motion Pictures Collection (Library of Congress)
Includes a sampling of early American films, including works by the Edison Company, recordings of vaudeville and other popular entertainments, early animated films; recordings of early 20th Century presidents, and scenes of American work and leisure.
Documentary Making for Digital Humanists
This fluent and comprehensive field guide responds to increased interest, across the humanities, in the ways in which digital technologies can disrupt and open up new research and pedagogical avenues.
Game Design and Development 2021
a textbook created by students based on research in variety of areas related to game design and development.
Internet Archive: Moving Images
This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
Introduction to Computer Graphics
Introduction to Computer Graphics is a free, on-line textbook covering the fundamentals of computer graphics and computer graphics programming.
Media History Digital Library
A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
OER Commons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
Openverse
Browse through over 600 million items to reuse. All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain.
Vincent Voice Library
The G. Robert Vincent Voice Library is a collection of over 100,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888.

Professional Organizations

Society for Animation Studies
The Society for Animation Studies (SAS) is an international organization dedicated to the study of animation history, theory and practice.
Women in Animation
Founded in 1995, WIA is the only organization dedicated to advancing women in the field of animation. We envision a world where women share equally in the creation, production and rewards of animation, and we provide resources and connections to make it happen.