LibGuides: Media Technology: Audio Recording & Production

Databases

ACM Digital Library
ACM is the world's most comprehensive database of full-text articles and bibliographic literature covering computing and information technology.

British Library Sounds-
Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

Multimedia

Recorded Sound Research Center
The Recorded Sound Research Center provides access to the commercial and archival audio holdings of the Library of Congress.

A.V. Club
A non-parody entertainment news site from The Onion.

Entertainment Careers
Jobs in Film, Television, Sports & Music - Studios, Networks, Production Companies, Music, Film, TV, Radio, VFX, Animation, Acting, Production, Post Production, PR, Design...

Media Match
Media Match & Music Jobs Network is a global publication and online networking community, bringing our subscribers the best in industry opportunities and daily news from the world of film, TV, music and gaming, alongside a feed of up-to-the-minute stories, original editorial, guest articles and exclusive audio and video content.

MediaREDEF
Media, tech, and pop culture news.

Journals & Articles

The Journal of the Audio Engineering Society
is the only peer-reviewed journal devoted exclusively to audio technology. Published 10 times each year, it is available to all AES members and subscribers.

Organised Sound
An international journal of music and technology

Journal on the Art of Record Production
is an international double-blind peer reviewed open access online journal promoting the interdisciplinary study of record and music production

Open Educational Resources

Vincent Voice Library
The G. Robert Vincent Voice Library is a collection of over 100,000 hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888.

British Pathe
Items from the British Pathe Film Archive: Spanning the years from 1896 to 1978, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture.

Media History Digital Library
A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.

OER Commons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.

Professional Organizations

Association of Music Producers
Founded in 1997 in New York, the Association of Music Producers is a trade association made up of music and sound professionals that advocates on behalf of companies and individuals who produce music for advertising and branded media.
Audio Engineering Society
The Audio Engineering Society is the only professional society devoted exclusively to audio technology.